India election results Live : BJP breaks 300 mark in early trends


New Delhi, May 23 : Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to meet party workers and  make a public statement at 5:30 p.m. at the BJP headquarters in New Delhi as the election results show that the BJP is now leading in 300 constituencies.

Meanwhile, the main opposition Congress Party is leading in 50 constituencies.
The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is currently leading in the states of Karnataka, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Tripura, Maharashtra, Assam, Manipur and Arunchal Pradesh.

The people’s verdict on who rules the world’s largest democracy for the next five years, will soon be out as counting of votes for the 2019 Lok Sabha election has started across 542 constituencies at various counting booths. Narendra Modi’s far-right Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), and the National Democratic Alliance coalition (NDA) is seeking a second term, while the Indian National Congress Party along with 21 other opposition parties , is seeking to unseat Modi government on the issue of farmers’ suicides, high inflation, unemployment and the disruption of India’s economy due to demonetisation and Goods and services tax.


The ‘TIME’ magazine article criticised Narendra Modi’s first term and described him as “India’s Divider in Chief”.

Exit polls have predicted that the BJP would retain power with a comfortable majority. The opposition has pointed out that the exit polls often get it wrong. Elections were held on 542 of the 543 Lok Sabha seats and a party or alliance needs 272 seats to form government.Believing that the NDA will fell short of the halfway mark of 272, the Congress is ready with the three-step Opposition plan

Supporters of the Congress Party and Bharatiya Janata party are holding a Havan (Hindu ceremony to please God) outside their respective party’s headquarters at New Delhi.

Congress supporters praying for Rahul Gandhi to be the next Prime Minister.The crowd chants “long live Rahul Gandhi.”

On Monday, former President Pranab Mukherjee released a statement on Twitter, expressing his concern over reports of alleged tampering of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

“The safety and security of EVMs which are in the custody of the ECI is the responsibility of the Commission,” he said in the statement.

“There can be no room for speculations that challenge the very basis of our democracy. People’s mandate is sacrosanct and has to be above any iota of reasonable doubt.”

The Congress Party campaigned on the failures of the Modi government and its unfulfilled promises on job creation, boosting farmers’ income and finding and returning black money, undisclosed foreign income that’s stashed abroad. Rahul Gandhi has accused Modi of corruption in the Rafale deal and also benefiting Anil Ambani in the jet deal. Gandhi attacked Modi for botched policy initiatives, including demonetization and GST. Congress party has accused Modi of crony capitalism and the  denigration of India’s constitutional institutions and the secular fabric of the country.

Live Lok Sabha election results

BJP candidate Kirron Kher is leading in postal ballot count in Chandigarh.

Pragya Thakur, the BJP’s candidate from Bhopal, is leading by around 3,000 votes.

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: BJP Leads In 164 Seats
The BJP is leading in 164 seats as of now. The Congress in 50 seats. In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP is leading in 14 seats, the Congress in 5.

  • In Uttar Pradesh, the BJP is leading in 29 seats, the Congress in 1 seat. The BSP and SP alliance is now leading in 5 seats.
  • The BJP is now leading in 154 seats. The National Democratic Alliance is leading in 162 seats. In Uttar Pradesh, the party is leading in 28 seats, in Gujarat it is leading in 22 seats and 21 seats in Karnataka. The Congress is leading in 44 seats, the UPA in 64.
  • The BJP has taken early lead. The party is leading in 16 seats. The Congress leads in 5 seats.
  • The BJP has asked 20,000 workers to reach its headquarters in Delhi. The workers are expected to receive PM Modi in the evening.
  • Results will not be delayed because of VVPAT verification as paper trail slips will be counted at the very end.

BJP candidate from Uttar Pradesh’s Gorakhpur, Ravi Kishan, offers prayers before counting

Narendra Modi Will Become PM: Umesh Jadhav, BJP Candidate From Gulbarga

“Narendra Modi will become the PM. I’m hopeful of winning the seat. After this, within a day or two, this coalition government (Congress-JDS government in Karnataka) is going to fall on its own and a BJP government will be formed.”


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top