India elections 2019 : Violence mars 5th phase of Lok Sabha polls

New Delhi, May 6 : Violence has been reported in Jammu and Kashmir on the day when voting is underway in the phase 5 of the Lok Sabha elections as two school buildings that were designated as polling booths were set on fire in Shopian while a grenade attack at a polling booth in Pulwama took place.

There have been reports of EVM malfunctioning in Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal in the phase 5 of the Lok Sabha elections today. Shopian and Pulwama, the worst hit by violence areas of Kashmir, are polling today as part of the third phase of polling for Anantnag constituency.

Voting is underway in 51 seats spread across seven states across north and east India with Several political bigwigs, including Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Union minister Smriti Irani, are in the fray in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections.Nearly 700 candidates are contesting for the 51 seats spread across seven states in phase 5 of Lok Sabha elections 2019 today.

Fourteen seats in Uttar Pradesh, 12 in Rajasthan, seven each in West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh, five in Bihar and four in Jharkhand will go to polls, in addition to Ladakh and Anantnag constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir. This is the first election in Ladakh division following its split from the Kashmir division earlier this year.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi is contesting from his family bastion of Amethi, a constituency he has held continuously since 2004. Just like the 2014 Lok Sabha election, he is pitted against Union Minister Smriti Irani. Gandhi won the 2014 election by a margin of more than 1 lakh votes, but the BJP leader managed to bag an impressive 3.01 lakh votes.

A person named Ranjit Paswan arrested on charges of vandalizing an EVM machine at polling booth number 131 in Chhapra in Bihar.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh is seeking re-election from Lucknow Lok Sabha constituency. Singh, the former BJP president, had emerged winner in the 2009 parliamentary polls from Ghaziabad but contested the 2014 election from Uttar Pradesh’s capital. In the 2014 polls, he defeated the then Congress candidate Rita Bahuguna Joshi by a margin of some 2.8 lakh votes.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top