Modi to take oath at Rashtrapati Bhavan on May 30, 7 pm

New Delhi, May 26 : Narendra Modi will be sworn in as Prime Minister along with Union Council of Ministers at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday evening at 7 pm.

President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the Oath of Office and Secrecy to PM-elect Narendra Modi and the Union Council of Ministers on May 30, as per the official communique on Sunday.

Modi, who was elected leader of the BJP and National Democratic Alliance, was appointed Prime Minister by the President on Saturday evening after he staked claim for forming the government.

In the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections, BJP alone got 303 seats, with NDA winning a total of 353 seats out the 545 Lok Sabha seats. It’s opposition, on the other hand, the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA), won 91 seats, as Congress managed to post a victory in only 52 seats.

PM Modi renewed his pitch for “Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas”, tweaking it as “Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas, Sabka Vishwas” as the new slogan for his second term. “The country has given me a huge mandate and the mandate comes with the expectations of the people,” PM Modi had said.

Amit Shah is likely to take the reins of Ministry of Home Affairs while Amethi MP and Textile Minister Smriti Irani is also likely to get a plum portfolio.

New faces are likely to be inducted  and LJP leader Ramvilas Paswan’s son Chirag and JD(U) is also expected to get a Cabinet berth.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top