Power is not permanent, even for Narendra Modi, says Kumaraswamy

July 29 : JDS leader and ex chief minister HD Kumaraswamy  said that Power is not permanent, even for Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP working president JP Nadda.Indian state of Karnataka has recently witnessed political changes due to the poaching of ruling MLAs  by BJP . BS Yediyurappa who masterminded the entire conspiracy of toppling the HD Kumaraswamy government in Karnataka, has won the trust vote through voice vote.

During the trust vote, former chief minister HD Kumaraswamy  said, “Power is not permanent, even for Prime Minister Narendra Modi and JP Nadda. We will not try to bring down your number from 105 to either 100 or lower. You speak of drought, at least now let’s see how you will work. We will cooperate with you for the sake of people.”

“You(BJP)have left the dissenting and rebel MLAs on roads. Since last week I’ve been seeing all developments. Speaker’s decision sends a strong message. He didn’t act in hurry. He looked into the matter very carefully, and looked looked into each case,” Kumaraswamy said at Vidhana Souha.

The BJP on Monday, won the trust vote in Karnataka Assembly through voice vote. With 14 MLAs disqualified by Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar over the weekend, the strength of the 224-seater House is now down to 210 and the BJP, with its 105 MLAs was comfortably placed to win the trust vote along with support from independents. Meanwhile, earlier on Monday, two of the rebel MLAs moved Supreme Court challenging disqualification by the Speaker.

Kumaraswamy said, “I ran the government for 14 months. I have no obligation to answer your (BS Yediyurappa) questions. I need to answer to my conscience. From the past 14 months, everything was being recorded. People know what work I have done.”

“We hope you (BS Yediyurappa) will be the Chief Minister but there is no guarantee of that. You are with the rebels, can you give a stable government? It’s impossible! I oppose this confidence motion because the reason is this government is unconstitutional and immoral,” says Siddaramaiah.

“There is drought. I want to address the farmers’ issues. I’ve decided to give 2 instalments of Rs 2000 to beneficiaries under PM Kisan scheme from the state’s side. I appeal to the opposition that we must work together. I appeal to House to unanimously express confidence in me,” says CM BS Yediyurappa in Vidhana Soudha.

Siddaramaiah: We’re elected to work for people and we must try to do that. I attempted this as CM and so did HD Kumaraswamy. Yediyurappa said the administration has come to a standstill and he wants to rectify that. It wasn’t the case. In a coalition, we worked towards bringing to force common minimum program

Assembly proceedings at Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru begin. The newly sworn-in Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa will face a trust vote today.

Karnataka MLAs Ramesh Jarkhiholi and Mahesh Kumathalli move SC against disqualification.

On Sunday, Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa chaired a meeting of the BJP legislative party on Sunday following which the party expressed confidence that it has the desired numbers to prove a majority on the floor of the House.

“Apart from our 105 MLAs, we have also the support of one or two independent MLAs. We are confident of proving our majority on the floor of Assembly,” Ravi Kumar, BJP’s state unit secretary, was quoted as saying after the meeting by ANI.

“As the remaining 11 Congress and 3 JD-S rebel legislators also defied their respective party’s whip by remaining absent from the Assembly on July 23 when the motion was to put the vote, they have violated the anti-defection law,” Speaker Kumar told reporters on Sunday.

Pratap Gouda Patil (Maski), BC Patil (Hirekerur), Shivaram Hebbar (Yellapur), S.T. Someshekhar (Yeshwantapur), Byrati Basavraj (KR Puram), Anand Singh (Vijayanagar), R Roshan Baig (Shivajinagar), Muniratna (RR Nagar), K. Sudhakar (Chikkaballapur), MTB Nagaraj (Hoskote) and Shrimant Patil (Kagawad) were disqualified by Kumar after they remained absent on July 23 when former Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy moved the trust motion. Three were disqualified for defying party’s whip and voting against the party on July 25.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top